Standards Based Grading. Hmmmm.

image

Standards Based Grading. Hmmmm.

I want to know how to use this particular beastie to my and my students’ advantage. What do I know about it?

(I sent out some tweets. #SBG and #MTBoS to find out more!)

It is based on the common core standards for my subject/grade level.
I’ve seen these as sets of “I can…” Statements- is there a list somewhere, or does each teacher create his/her own?

(I sent out more tweets: @TarheelMommy95 @algebrainiac1 @JustinAion @WHSRowe were a few of those who generously shared what resources, including two references I definitely want to read: Marzano’ Formative Assessment and Standards Based Grading and Designing and Teaching Learning Goals & Objectives.

A score is given for each “I Can…” that reflects the student’s level of achievement of the standard, usually 0 to 4 or 5, depending on the teacher.
There are some great rubrics in the CCSS materials that could help me here- maybe there are teachers who have also simplified the rubrics for their students and parents – to help them begin the process of steering their own learning. (I feel another tweet coming on! I also remember a blog…. Mrs. Aitoro’s that might help me here. I will ask her to share…

I will want to have some kind of tracking system. That means that I will need to connect each task to the appropriate standard/skill. I will need to be able to identify what mastery is for that skill (oh yeah, the “I can…” statements and the rubric statements will help me there!)

How does the student exhibit improvement? I’ve seen a blog that explains the grade book set up – one grade per standard, it gets changed if the student exhibits improvement, but doesn’t get lowered. I like the idea of two tests with 100% success allows the student to not have to test that standard again. Can I assume mastery after two times? Will the rubric for mastery be clear enough? Will I run the risk of the student forgetting? Does mastery indicate memory or true conceptual understanding?

Thankfully, because of Task #2 and #MTBoS (thanks Justin @j_lanier and the rest of the MTBoS team!) I know I am not the only one out here asking these questions and I don’t have to re-create the wheel for my particular hamster cage! I really want to do this. And now I know I can!

5 thoughts on “Standards Based Grading. Hmmmm.

  1. Good luck with the SBG mission. Sounds like you have some good leads. I’m also just getting started with twitter and hope to focus in on more specific topics as well, rather than just send out these general comments.

  2. I’ve seen the SBG acronym around but didn’t have a clear idea what it was. Thanks for the clarification! This MTBoS challenge has really opened me up to the online world of passionate math teachers. It’s so cool to see people helping each other out on Twitter!

  3. I am also trying to use SBG in my math classes this year. I’m just getting my feet wet, but I like what you said about having 1 space per standard in the grade book. I haven’t made myself that organized yet–maybe next semester! I do allow the students to come in for extra help when they need more work with a standard and then I allow them to retake the quizzes as many times as they need to in order to show growth. (I use quizzes because they are smaller and less intimidating for the students–and I can give one and then still teach a mini lesson in the same class period). There is a chat on Twitter on Wednesday evenings…#SBGChat. You should check it out! @WHSRowe participates along with some other SBG experts!

    1. Check out some of dan meyer’s blog comments, too.
      As I figure out/ learn more strategies, I will post more details. Good luck! Let me know if you find ways to make it work for you.

  4. Sounds like you had a good week with this challenge! I don’t use standard based grading but I do try and give students lists of “I Can” statements before major assessments. I wish there was a bank of them somewhere too!

Leave a Reply

